
 

 
 

 

This application form is used by persons seeking licensure in Mississippi as a Funeral Service or 

Funeral Director Licensee and who is currently already licensed in good standing in 

another state. Application by Reciprocity allows an applicant to provide evidence 

satisfactory to the Board that he or she holds a valid, unrevoked, and unexpired license as 

a funeral service practitioner or funeral director in another state having substantially 

similar requirements to the requirements for licensure as either an embalmer or funeral 

director in this state. 

 

Application For Reciprocity 
 

1) The application must be completed in full, either printed in black ink or typewritten, 

except where signature is required.  The Affidavit of Applicant statement must be 

notarized.   

 

2) The application and appropriate fee of $200.00, must be returned to the address below.  

The application fee is NON-REFUNDABLE. 

 

3) Submit passing scores from the National Conference.  (sent directly to the Board from 

The Conference)  The National Conference's website is www.theconferenceonline.org. 

 

4) Submit transcript from Mortuary School or College (sent directly to the Board from the 

school or college) This is required for Funeral Service license only. 

 

5) Submit a license certification from each state you hold or have held a license in. (Page 3 

of application form). 

 

6) Once an application is deemed complete a license fee will be required.  This fee is 

prorated and a letter will be sent advising of the amount due. 

 

a. Licenses renew June 30th, bi-annually on the even years. 

 

Mail  to:  3010 Lakeland Cove, Suite W,  

Flowood MS 39232 

Make check or money order payable to Mississippi Board of Funeral Service 

 

Should you have any questions, please call board staff @ 601-932-1973. 
Web Page: www.msbfs.ms.gov 

Email: funeral_board@msbfs.state.ms.us 



Pursuant to the provisions of the Universal Recognition of Occupational Licenses Act, Mississippi shall recognize 

occupational licenses obtained from other states. 
 

MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF FUNERAL SERVICE  

Application to apply for license by Reciprocity 
Non-Refundable Application Fee $200.00 

 

CHECK THE TYPE OF LICENSE APPLYING FOR:  Funeral Director   Funeral Service (Embalmer & 

Funeral Director) 
  

PART 1 APPLICANT INFORMATION 

 

Name:_________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

  Last      First       Middle   

 

Name to appear on License: (Print) __________________________________________________     

 

SS# :       Date of Birth:         /_____/_____ Gender:               Male Female  

 
Address:__________________________________________________________________________________________  

   Street or P O Box     City   State  Zip 

Home Telephone:(_____)________________________                  Cell Telephone:(_____)_____________________________ 

 

E-Mail Address:               

 

If you have secured employment in MS, list employer:          

 

PART 2 LICENSE INFORMATION 

 

Original State of Licensure: ________________________ Funeral Director #_______________ Embalmer #________________ 

Was an apprenticeship/internship completed? Yes   No   Length of Apprenticeship     

List other states you currently hold or have held a Funeral license in: 

State  __________________ License No. ______________ Date issued ____________ 

State __________________ License No. ______________ Date issued ____________ 

State _________________ License No. ______________ Date issued ____________ 

*A License Certification is required from each state* 

 

Have you ever had any license or registration to practice embalming, funeral directing, or cremations revoked, suspended, fined, 

placed on probation, or otherwise disciplined, in this state or any other state or jurisdiction? YES   NO    

Do you have any actions pending? YES   NO   

Have you ever voluntarily relinquished or surrendered a professional license or registration to practice embalming, funeral 

directing, or cremations while under investigation, or after initiation of a disciplinary proceeding against you or the license?  

YES   NO   

Have you ever had any license/registration application to practice funeral services denied? YES  NO  

If a YES response briefly describe:           

              

 

 

PART 3 EDUCATION INFORMATION  

 

Name of Mortuary Science Program where you graduated _________________________________________________________ 

Copy of Certified College Transcript  was requested to be sent to the Funeral Board.  Yes ____ 



 

Name:      

 

PART 4 CRIMINAL HISTORY 

 

Have you been convicted of a felony? Yes______ No ______ If yes, briefly describe below and  attach copies of court documents 

and an explanation of the charge, sentence, and disposition.  Yes responses to Background questions will require review by The 

Board. 

 

1)              

2)              

3)              

  

PART 5 AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICANT: 

 

I hereby state under oath that my Funeral Director and/or Embalmer license has never been canceled, suspended or revoked, 

placed on probation, and at the present time said license is in full force and effect.  I further state there is no prosecution pending 

against me in any State or Federal Court for any felonious offense and that I am the identical person to whom the license was 

originally issued, and that the statements contained herein are true and correct to the best of my knowledge.  By submitting this 

application, I am providing a full and complete release to the licensing authority to any and all records and documentation 

necessary to consider this application. 

 

Signature: ________________________________________ 

 

Subscribed and sworn to before me this the ___________ day of __________________________, ___________A.D. 

 

 

 (Notary Seal)     

      __________________________________________________ 

      Notary Public, in and for 

 

 

      __________________________________________________ 

      County    State 

 

 

My commission expires: ___________________  

  



 
STATE OF MISSISSIPPI 

MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF FUNERAL SERVICE 

3010 LAKELAND COVE, SUITE W 

FLOWOOD, MS  39232 

Office:  (601) 932-1973   FAX:  (601) 932-1901 

msbfs.ms.gov 

 

CERTIFICATION OF LICENSURE  

 
TO THE LICENSING AUTHORITY:  The person indentified below is applying for a professional license in the State of Mississippi and desires to 

establish with Mississippi their license in your state.  Thank you for your assistance.   

Section 1.  Applicant Information 
First Name: 

 

Middle Initial: Last Name: 

Date of Birth: 

 
Social Security Number:  

Section 2A.  Licensure Information by Responding State 
This will certify that the Applicant is currently licensed in good standing in this state in the following category(s) (please circle applicable 
category(s) and provide requested information): 

CATEGORY 

(circle applicable) 
Date licensed Date Expires Exam required? 

(circle applicable) 

Embalmer             /      /               /      /   Yes                   No 
Funeral Director            /      /              /      /   Yes                   No 

Section 2B.  Exam Information from Responding State 
The records of this State indicate that the Applicant has taken the exam(s) indicated below and achieved the scores indicated (please circle 
applicable). 

Exam (circle applicable items) Score (% correct answer) Month & year exam taken 
An examination administered by the Board 

and prepared by the Conference. 
 / 

Science Section of the National Board Exam, 
administered by the Conference of Funeral 

Service Examining Boards. 

  

 

/ 
Arts Section of the National Board Exam, 
administered by the Conference of Funeral 

Service Examining Boards. 

  

 

/ 
An examination prepared and administered by 

this state. 
  

/ 
Section 3.  Disciplinary Action 

Has ___ Has not  ____taken disciplinary action against the license referred to in this Certification. 

Details of Disciplinary Action (attach additional sheets): 

 

Section 4.  Signature of Responding State Licensing Authority Staff Member 

 

______________________               _______________________                _________________ 
Signature                                                                         Print Name                                                                           Date 

 

 
State:_____________________________                     ___________________________________                                          SEAL 

                                                           Phone Number 
 
 


