MS State Board of Funeral Service

Today is

Home


Mississippi State Board of Funeral Service
3010 Lakeland Cove, Suite W
Flowood, MS  39232
Telephone:  601-932-1973
Fax:  601-932-1901
Email: funeral_board@msbfs.state.ms.us

www.transparency.mississippi.gov
Transparency.ms.gov has been created to promote transparency in government and in spending.
There is a wealth of data available on the site that is searchable,
viewable on screen, and can also be printed for offline usage.

Board Meeting
April 5, 2021
@ 9:00 AM
3010 Lakeland Cove Ste W
Flowood, MS 39232
Phone: 601-932-1973



LATE RENEWALS

Renewals are now past due. To continue operating your license must be renewed. If you need a renewal form you may access a blank one HERE. A form is not required to renew.

Resident Trainees (FDRT and FSRT) Expire 12/31/2020
After 12/31/2020: $150


Establishments (FE, BE, MS, and CR) Expire 12/31/2020
After 12/31/2020: $975



COVID - 19 Updates

As guidelines change we will continue to try to keep everyone updated.  During this time it would be a best practice to check the CDC website and MS Dept of Health's website daily.  Below are the links to both those websites and other websites that you may find useful information.  Resources related to Coronavirus (COVID-19)

In their guidelines the CDC provides guidance in regards to funeral services.  COVID-19 and Funerals.

Click this link to read Gov. Tate Reeve's Executive Orders.  Executive Orders

MS State Department of Health (MSDH) Public Health Guidance (December 2, 2020) - MS Residents Advised to Avoid Social Gatherings  Click to Read

The MS Department of Health (MSDH) provides the following guidelines for Social Gatherings and Events

Everyone attending essential events and gatherings should take extra precautions at this time, including:

  • Maintain social distancing as much as practical. A separation of 6 feet from another person is considered effective for infection control.
  • Wash hands frequently and thoroughly soap and water, or use hand sanitizer if soap and water are not available. Look for sanitizers with at least 60 percent alcohol..
  • If ill, do not attend any public event and call your physician or healthcare provider if needed.
  • Schools throughout the state should consider cancelling any large gatherings, including assembly and social events.
  • CDC recommendation and resources for community events

Event organizers: MSDH recommends that communities and organizations contact us at 877-978-6453 to determine whether cancellation is warranted, or appropriate preventive steps for your event.



REMINDER:
Quarterly Reports must be submitted timely to receive credit. The schedule of reporting is below.

Rule 6.1 (5) If the quarterly report is not timely submitted, that quarter shall not be counted toward successful completion of the apprenticeship. Timely submission of a quarterly report shall be within fifteen (15) calendar days following the conclusion of the quarter.


Reporting Schedule:
Jan-Mar due by April 15th
Apr-Jun due by July 15th
Jul-Sept due by Oct 15th
Oct-Dec due by Jan 15th



MISSION STATEMENT OF THE MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF FUNERAL SERVICE

The Mississippi State Board of Funeral Service is responsible for implenting the provisions of the Funeral Service Law for the purpose of better protection of life and health and regulating the practice of embalming, funeral directing and the care and disposition of dead human bodies.

The Board is authorized to prescribe a standard of proficiency as to the qualifications of embalmers and funeral directors, to revoke or suspend licenses for any violations of this law, to adopt rules and regulations and to set standards of sanitation to be observed in the embalming or cremation of dead human bodies. Any person desiring to engage in the practice of embalming and/or the practice of funeral directing or operating a funeral establishment must first meet the requirements of the law and rules and be licensed by the Board.